To ensure and facilitate collaboration for your team, Dawiso offers a robust user management system, including clearly defined user roles and capability to assign permissions.
The user management system:
- Ensures that sensitive data is accessed responsibly and tasks are performed by authorized personnel, enhancing security and compliance
- Facilitates smoother teamwork by allowing different users or groups to access the resources they need to perform their roles efficiently
- Supports audit trails, ensuring that all data interactions are traceable and accountable, which is crucial for maintaining data integrity and trust across the organization
Dawiso user roles
User roles are essential for effective data governance and secure system management within organizations. Permission scopes granted to different user roles control access to resources. This ensures that employees only have the permissions necessary for their job roles, which enhances security by minimizing unauthorized access and potential data breaches.
In Dawiso, there are three main user roles available:
- Admin: Full access to the platform, including adding new users, managing users or user groups (including permissions), and configuring the platform.
- Contributor: Limited permissions, such as
- View content
- Gain access to specific spaces and edit their attributes
- Create subspaces
- Create objects and edit their attributes
- Viewer: Read-only permissions for spaces they are allowed to access.
For a detailed list of permissions available for each role, see User roles permissions overview.
Public Dawiso environments allow access to guests. Guests can only view objects in public spaces and unlike Viewers, they do not have their own Dawiso account.
Technical users
In every Dawiso instance, you will see technical users with the roles technical.admin, technical.contributor, and technical.viewer.
Technical users are automatically generated by Dawiso and are used internally, for example for creating the initial administrator account for the environment owner.
technical.admin: System-generated administrator.technical.contributor: System-generated contributor.technical.viewer: System-generated read-only user.
System-generated technical users are not intended for customer use and should not be assigned or modified.
Add new users
The New user button appears only when register mode is enabled for your environment. The same setting controls the Edit, Change password, and Delete actions in the user detail panel.
To add new users to your Dawiso platform, invite your colleagues:
- Navigate to Settings
> Users & Permissions > Users.
- Click New user above the users table.
- Fill in the following information to create an account for your team members:
- Login: The username for your team member. It can be a simple username (like
user1,name_surname, etc.) or their email address. - User role: Select your team member’s role. For more information, see the next section on setting user roles.
- Password: Enter your team member’s password. Once they log in to Dawiso, they can change it (for more information, see Change or reset password).
- Login: The username for your team member. It can be a simple username (like
- [Optional] The following fields are optional:
- Display name: This name will be displayed in the list of users.
- First name: Your team member’s first name.
- Last name: Your team member’s last name.
- Email: An email used for receiving Dawiso notifications.
- Phone: Your team member’s phone number.
- Description: A description for easier identification.
- Create the account and forward the credentials to your team member.
Navigate to Settings > Users & Permissions > Roles to see which team members hold each user role. Select a role to list the users who hold it in the detail panel. Guests are not included as they don’t have their own Dawiso accounts.
You can also assign specific permissions to individuals or a group of users.
Manage team members
Accounts with the admin role can manage other users, including permissions, what user group users belong to, or user details.
- Navigate to Settings
> Users & Permissions > Users.
- Select the user you want to manage and modify their user groups, granted permissions, and information in the detail panel on the right.
To find a user, search the Name column or filter the table. The users table has the following columns:
| Column | Description |
|---|---|
| Name | The user’s avatar, name, and email address. |
| Role | The user role assigned to the account. |
| Groups | The user groups the user belongs to. |
| Status | Whether the account is active or disabled. |
| Last active | When the user was last active in Dawiso. |
Three filters narrow the table down further:
- Role: Show only the users who hold the selected user roles. You can select more than one role.
- Groups: Show only the members of the selected user groups. You can select more than one group, and search the list of groups by name.
- Status: Active, Disabled, or All. The table shows active users by default.
The page URL records the selected user. Opening the link selects that user automatically. The Groups page supports the same kind of link.
Edit user information
- Select a user and click Edit in the detail panel to change any information (including user role).
- Confirm your changes.
- Click the three dots icon next to Edit:
- Select Change password to set a new password for the user.
- Select Delete to remove the user and all their information. Confirm your changes.
User Groups tab
The Groups tab in the detail panel lists all user groups and marks which groups the selected user belongs to. Here:
- Assign the user to a user group. User groups can have custom permissions.
- Remove the user from a user group.
Spaces Permissions tab
Configure permissions for individual users on the Spaces rights tab in the detail panel. Here, you can add or remove permissions using the checkboxes next to specific spaces.
| Column | Permission | Description |
|---|---|---|
| R | read | Can view this space and its content. |
| W | write | Can edit this space and its content. |
Permissions depend on the user role:
- Viewer: The
writepermission is disabled automatically. - Contributor: Enable
readorwritepermissions for specific spaces.
User groups
For more efficient user management, you can create user groups with a custom set of read or write permissions and assign individual users to the group. All users within one group have the same set of permissions.
The groups table has the following columns:
| Column | Description |
|---|---|
| Group | The group name, with a manual or LDAP group label. |
| Description | The group description. |
| Members | The number of users in the group. |
| Status | Whether the group is active or disabled. |
| Created | When the group was created. |
Use the Status filter to show active groups, disabled groups, or all of them. The table shows active groups by default.
The top of the detail panel shows the group name, the number of members, and the group type, followed by three tiles with the Members, Type, and Status values. Click Edit to change the group name and description. To delete the group, click the three dots icon next to Edit and select Delete.
Groups synchronized from LDAP cannot be edited or deleted in Dawiso. Manage their name, description, and membership in your directory service instead.
Create a user group
- Navigate to Settings
> Users & Permissions > Groups.
- Click New group above the groups table to create a group.
- Select your group in the groups table on the left.
- Edit the group in the detail panel on the right:
- On the Users tab, add your team member(s) to the group.
- On the Spaces rights tab, edit the permissions for the group. The R and W columns work the same way as for individual users.